Politics of the Middle East and North Africa

Topic

This exercise offers you an opportunity to critically reflect on media coverage of current issues pertaining to the politics of the Middle East and North Africa. For this essay you should first identify an issue area. One example would be Islam and the status of women in the Middle East. Then, you are to assess how your sources are different or similar in terms of their coverage of the issue area that you have identified.

Please note that you are not writing an essay on the issue itself. This is not an essay on the status of women in MENA, for example. Rather, in this essay you are critically reflecting on media coverage of an issue in MENA. It is important to critically reflect on how underlying assumptions and biases may lead to different interpretations events in this important region. Finally, for this essay you must think imaginatively about how to integrate course readings into your assessment of media coverage of politics in the region, and to draw connections between your media sources and course readings.

Sources

1. Outside Sources: You are to go to the Global News and Opinion section in CANVAS. Here, you are to identify three sources that touch on the issue that you have identified. Here are the required criteria:

One (only one!) of your sources must be from the United States.
One source must be from MENA.
Your third sources must be from a third region, for example Europe.
2. Course Readings: In this essay you must demonstrate that you have critically reflected on course readings, and that you have integrated these readings into your essays in a clear and coherent fashion. Here are the required criteria:

I expect to see a total of four clear references to course readings, cited appropriately.
Your selections from course readings must be clearly relevant to the essay topic.

Sources

Website Origin
Al Ahram http://english.ahram.org.eg/Index.aspx Egypt
Alalam http://en.alalam.ir/ Iran
Alarabiya http://english.alarabiya.net/ Saudi Arabia
Aljazeera https://www.aljazeera.com/ Qatar
Almanar http://www.almanar.com.lb/english/main.php Lebanon
Arab News http://www.arabnews.com/ Saudi Arabia
BBC https://www.bbc.com/ United Kingdom
China Daily http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/chinesemedia.html China
CNN https://www.cnn.com/ United States
Foreign Policy https://foreignpolicy.com/ United States
Fox News https://www.foxnews.com/ United States
Hurriet Daily News http://www.hurriyetdailynews.com/ Turky
Iraqi News https://www.iraqinews.com/ Iraq
Jerusalem Post https://www.jpost.com/ Isreal
Le Monde Diplomatique http://mondediplo.com/Links to an external site. France
Libya Herald http://www.libyaherald.com/ Libya
PBS https://www.pbs.org/ United States
Pravda http://english.pravda.ru/ Russia
Russia Today https://www.rt.com/ Russia
Spiegel Online http://www.spiegel.de/international/ Germany
Syria Times http://syriatimes.sy/ Syria
Tahran Times http://www.tehrantimes.com/ Iran
The Guardian https://www.theguardian.com/us United Kingdom
The Independent https://www.independent.co.uk/us United Kingdom
The New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/ United States
The Times of India https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/defaultinterstitial_int.cms India
The Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/?noredirect=on United States
Voice of America https://www.voanews.com/ United States
Yemen Times http://www.yementimes.com/ Yemen